Using Green Infrastructure to Manage Urban Stormwater – Webinar Series

Using Green Infrastructure to Manage Urban Stormwater – Webinar Series

Sustainable City Network Academy
Green Infrastructure (GI) uses vegetation and soil to manage urban stormwater. Gray Infrastructure uses only pipes and ponds to manage stormwater. Smart cities use them both, and optimize each. Green Infrastructure does not replace a city’s existing Gray Infrastructure. Instead, the two strategies work best when they complement each other for the least overall cost, with the greatest flood protection, and the cleanest surrounding lakes, rivers and beaches.

This 8-hour urban Green Infrastructure course, presented in four 2-hour webinars, including questions and answers, will focus on: soil protection and rehabilitation; green roofs; green and living walls; filter strips; super-absorbent turf; prairie plantings; pervious paving; rain gardens; stream and shoreline stabilization; urban forests; bio-swales; rain water harvesting; and stormwater wetlands. Also addressed will be non-structural issues such as: cold climate GI; road salt; street sweeping; and capital costs.

Stormwater management practices will address: construction pre-treatment and post-construction. Stormwater treatment mechanisms will address these practices: pretreatment; filtration; infiltration; sedimentation; and chemistry.

Sessions will be held on March 20, 21, 27 and 28, 2018. Each session will be recorded on video, so if you have to miss a live session, you’ll have access to the recording on the following day and for 30 days thereafter. There is a fee for this webinar series. All class sessions begin promptly at 10 a.m. Pacific, 11 a.m. Mountain, Noon Central and 1 p.m. Eastern.

Find out more: